Skip to content
August 12, 2016 / peoplesbookprize

Leigh Russell’s Murder Ring – TPBP Summer Collection 2016

leigh russell

⌈ Vote Now ⌋

In the lead up to The People’s Book Prize 2016 we caught up with author Leigh Russell to talk about her children’s book

Murder Ring

 

Where did the idea of MURDER RING come from?

Writing the eighth title in a detective series set in North London, it seemed implausible to continue the series indefinitely without even mentioning guns. So the story for MURDER RING is woven around a character who should never have been in possession of a gun, who inadvertently becomes drawn into an enquiry into a terrible shooting incident.

No Exit Press publish a variety of brilliant authors. What is it like to be in the company of talented writers?

It is a great privilege to be published by a publisher who is so highly regarded both in the industry, and among the wider reading public. Crime writers have a reputation for being friendly, and writing for No Exit Press really is like being a member of a club for likeminded people. I have made many friends, with the production and publicity teams at No Exit Press, and with many brilliant authors they publish. When I travel around the UK and overseas for literary events, it is always lovely to meet other No Exit authors, and I invariably feel as though I have bumped into an old friend.

Have you got a message for your readers?

To people who read my books, I have to say that I am extremely happy to know that you are enjoying my books, and thank you very much for all the support you give me. It is a truism that without our readers, we authors would not be able to devote ourselves to writing full-time.

What can we expect from you in the future?

The second in my Lucy Hall series is published in September, with the title GIRL IN DANGER. Following that, the ninth Geraldine Steel is out as an ebook in December, called DEADLY ALIBI, and the paperback is published in early 2017. As well as writing more books in the future, I will no doubt continue my busy schedule of literary events, talks and panels, and hope to see readers on my travels around the UK and overseas. I am very excited to be appearing at a major literary festival in the US later this year, and there are other events planned which are closer to home.

Any suggestions to support libraries?

I urge readers to use their local libraries. To those who buy books in charity shops, I would say please donate a little money each month to charity, and borrow books from your local library. That way, the charity does not lose out, and the libraries will gain vital support. I spend a lot of time visiting libraries to talk to readers, which is always enjoyable, and was thrilled to be the second most borrowed author in Hertfordshire libraries one year, second only to James Patterson. As an author, I never charge a fee for appearing at a library, even when it is a ticketed event. We all need to do everything we can to ensure our library service survives. If we don’t use the libraries, we will lose them.

Facebook: Leigh Russell
Twitter: @LeighRussell
Leave a Reply

