Skip to content
July 8, 2016 / peoplesbookprize

Ian Jackson⌈ Vote Now ⌋

In the lead up to The People’s Book Prize 2016 we caught up with author Ian Jackson to talk about his novel

Deadly Determination

Ian Jackson is a local magazine and sports programme publisher and has run his own small business since 1989. Also an accomplished feature writer, Ian has written many articles for consumer magazines such as Concept for Living and Style Guide for The Daily Mail. His debut novel ‘Dead Charming’ stemmed from a keen interest in the psychology of crime, and in analysing the experiences of both perpetrator and victim through their emotional and mental turmoil – with often terrifying results. This interest continued in his second novel ‘Deadly Determination’ Ian lives in Cheshire with his wife, Susie.

When did you start writing?

My career has involved writing as a journalist and feature writer for newspapers and consumer magazines. I began writing my first novel in 2013.

As an Author, what influences you the most?

I love Truman Capote and F Scott Fitzgerald amongst many others as the prose they use, and their style of writing is truly excellent. However, Alan Bennett the playwright inspired my writing with his Talking Heads series when I realised that characters could become alive through a narrative, albeit in my case, a very different genre.

Where did the idea for this book originate?

I have a keen interest in psychology and the workings of the criminal mind. When I decided to set Deadly Determination in Liverpool, my birthplace, the characters naturally evolved through the existence of the Liverpool voice and mindset.

The People’s Book Prize nominees are voted for by the readers, how important are your readers to you?

Readers are the lifeblood to any author. I love to hear reader’s views, good and critical, and I value all opinions given.

We like to think there’s a voice for everyone in Publishing – what is your opinion?

I agree. It is very difficult to become a published writer through traditional channels as there are so many wonderful new authors.

Percy Publishing publishes a variety of brilliant authors, what is it like to be in the company of talented writers?

We are a close-knit family at Percy Publishing, and there is nothing more rewarding than feeding on the enthusiasm of talent.

What book influenced you most as a writer and what are you reading at the moment?

The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald is probably my most significant influence. The way the author draws the characters through the narrative is remarkable. At the moment I am reading some of the Great War poets such as Wilfred Owen, Siegfried Sassoon, Thomas Hardy, Rupert Brooke and Edward Thomas. I find the language fascinating as the words become emotionally charged through experiences often felt first-hand – exceptional works.

What can we expect from you in the future? What are you writing at the moment?

I’m writing my third book which is based in Bradford and should be finished very soon. It’s a crime thriller with a twist that I hope will leave my readers gasping for breath!

Is there anything else you would like to add?

I would like to thank the People’s Book Prize for creating and Award that not only recognises new talent in literature, but also puts its trust in the reading public to choose a winner – well done and I know these Awards will go from strength to strength as the years pass.

 

Find Ian at: ian-d-jackson.com

Facebook: I D Jackson

Twitter: @crimenovel


home pageThe People’s Book Prize is the unique literary competition that is judged by the nation and open to all UK publishing companies.

You Be the Judge: The People’s Book Prize – “The home for new and undiscovered works.”
Leave a Reply

