Skip to content
July 7, 2016 / peoplesbookprize

kate blincoe⌈ Vote Now ⌋

In the lead up to The People’s Book Prize 2016 we caught up with author Kate Blincoe to talk about her non-fiction book

The No-Nonsense Guide to Green Parenting

 

Kate Blincoe is a freelance writer who has been working in the environmental sector for over a decade. She is also a barefoot nature lover, never happier than when pottering around in the countryside with her two young children for company. Kate is passionate about being green, but also understands the challenges of achieving that in a busy, modern life. Kate loves blackberries eaten straight off the bush, green tips that make life more fun and climbing trees – you’re never too old.

When did you start writing?

I’ve always loved writing. Whether it was my first poem when I was five saying my little brother was a pig, my angst ridden teenage diaries or my newspaper column, at age 15, writing has always been how I express myself best.

As an Author, what influences you the most?

It was the support of my husband, my mum and step-dad that gave me the confidence to give up the day job and take a risk.

Where did the idea for this book come from?

When I became a parent, I was horrified that my green ideals felt so difficult to stay true to. All advice I turned to seemed to make me feel guilty about everything I was doing wrong, or was scientifically inaccurate and scaremongering (I studied environmental sciences at the University of East Anglia). I researched the subject and realised there was a massive need for green parenting advice that was sane, scientific and human. I wanted to write a fun companion to the crazy adventure of parenting that would open the reader’s eyes to the many benefits of a nature and planet-connected family life.

The People’s Book Prize nominees are voted for by the readers, how important are your readers to you?

My readers are a massive source of inspiration. I love seeing photos or hearing on social media when people have tried out ideas in my book, or come up with new twists on things I suggest. It is this sense of community that helps keep parents sane and it certainly helps me endlessly, both as a writer and a mother.

We like to think there’s a voice for everyone in Publishing – what is your opinion?

I actually think being an author, whilst wonderful on many levels, is an ongoing financial challenge. It often takes about one and a half years after publication to see the first penny of income! So you’ve got to be prepared to live on the poverty line or have some support from loved ones. This undoubtedly limits who can have a voice.

Green Books publishes a variety of brilliant authors, what is it like to be in the company of talented writers?

At first, it was rather intimidating and awe-inspiring. Authors such as Georgie Newbery write such beautiful, successful books, and with such regularity too. After a while, I realised that these more experienced authors are a wonderful source of support and advice. The Green Books family is a close network, and I’m delighted to have just endorsed a wonderful book on self-sufficiency by Sally Morgan (Living on One Acre or Less: How to produce all the fruit, veg, meat, fish and eggs your family needs) – it’s always nice to have your name on the backcover next to Kate Humble’s!

What book influenced you most as a writer and what are you reading at the moment?

Two books really influenced me. The first is Teresa Belton’s Happier People Healthier Planet, a book that just reaches out to you and takes away your desire for instant gratification and a life based on consumerism and possessions. Secondly, Caitlin Moran’s How to be a Woman, because I just love her style of writing and the way she takes such serious topics and discusses them with such a personal touch combined with humour and irreverence. She ends up blowing your mind, making you want to change the world and making you laugh all at once. I’m a voracious reader and always have a book on the go. I’m currently reading What She Left, by T.R. Richmond. It’s a modern novel, reconstructing a dead girl’s life though her social media accounts. It’s really gripping!

What can we expect from you in the future? What are you writing at the moment?

I’m enjoying writing for a range of publications at the moment. That is anything from Farmer’s Weekly to the Guardian newspaper. Nature writing is deeply fulfilling, and I’m pleased to have just had some of my writing published in Summer: An Anthology for the Changing Seasons, edited by Melissa Harrisson. As for another book, I wouldn’t rule it out, but it does have to be a topic that I am deeply passionate about. Like many people, it is also my dream to have a novel published.

 

Find Kate at: kateblincoe.wordpress.com

Facebook: GreenBooks

Twitter: @Kateblincoe


home pageThe People’s Book Prize is the unique literary competition that is judged by the nation and open to all UK publishing companies.

You Be the Judge: The People’s Book Prize – “The home for new and undiscovered works.”
Leave a Reply

