Skip to content
July 6, 2016 / peoplesbookprize

karl bradshaw-white⌈ Vote Now ⌋

In the lead up to The People’s Book Prize 2016 we caught up with author Karl Bradshaw-White to talk about his novel

Algarve Travel Guide: 54 Cities, Towns & Villages

Born In London in 1962 having left the city for rural life in the country, a passion grew for nature and walking. Karl had the privilege to be a boarder in Tylney Hall In Hampshire, now a luxury hotel. Over the years a passion for antiques took hold in the shape of opening large showrooms in Suffolk; with the Gulf War playing a large part of the demise of the business closing down in the early 1990’s. Soon a passion came for making replica antique furniture pieces in miniature, which opened up another doorway. Travelling the world to exhibitions in Japan, New York, Chicago, Madrid and London. A passion for the arts and writing has always been in the blood; this soon became reality when winning the prestige Beecroft Art Gallery award for one of his works of art. Having written articles published in the past with a wide Genre, the Algarve Travel Guide shows the passion for travel.

 

When did you start writing?

I started writing poetry and short stories in the early 1990’s with a young student friend; we would often compare each other’s work. Becoming a writer was something that I had planned to save for my retirement years. Never did I think I would be encouraged by a publisher who then gave me a traditional contract with an advance payment. Find my book had been entered into the ‘TPBP’ was a great honour and when its readers voted it through to the finals, I was truly grateful for the time they had taken to vote.

As an Author, what influences you the most?

Not so much who, rather than what, seeing beyond the everyday things in life can trigger the imagination that has no boundaries. As a child lying on the ground with a group of friends looking at the clouds in the sky; yet often each would see something different in the same cloud. Imagine explaining a colour to someone who has been born blind and never seen colour.

Where did the idea for this book originate?

Seeing the lack of information, in some cases, a town or village being described in one sentence; urged me to want to explain it in more detail.

The People’s Book Prize nominees are voted for by the readers, how important are your readers to you?

Readers are the reason we write; Roald Dhal quoted “I don’t care if a reader hates one of my stories, just as long as he finishes the book.” I would like to think readers of my books enjoy reading it, as well as finishing it to the end; then pass it on to another to enjoy.

We like to think there’s a voice for everyone in Publishing – what is your opinion?

The publishing industry has seen a decline with many publishing houses closing in the last ten year, but it is not through lack of readers. With modern day inventions and technology which has allowed many individuals the opportunity to electronically self-publish; some have become best sellers worldwide, and all have been picked up by well-known publishing houses. Ironically modern publishing methods are now giving unknown authors the chance to make it to the top while keeping publishing houses alive.

Austin Macauley publishes a variety of brilliant authors, what is it like to be in the company of talented writers?

It is a great honour to be among other talented writers I find it exciting what we write today, can become part of history that leaves a legacy.

What book influenced you most as a writer and what are you reading at the moment?

This was one of those questions I was dreading. I don’t read books; the last book I read was Chris Stewart’s ‘Driving Over Lemons’ which took me six months to complete and that was over five years ago.

What can we expect from you in the future? What are you writing at the moment?

I have found that my imagination has given me the gift of a broad genre, my publishers have now published my second book which is a young children’s book which I also illustrated. I have just finished my first adult novel which does have some raunchy scenes. Currently, I have four other books on the go, varying from a second series of the children’s book ‘The Adventures of Flossy’ a thriller set in the 20th Century, a children’s fantasy adventure, and lastly a novel set around the Holocaust.

Find Karl at: karlbradshaw-white.com

Facebook: Karl.BradshawWhite

Twitter: @BradshawWhite


home pageThe People’s Book Prize is the unique literary competition that is judged by the nation and open to all UK publishing companies.

You Be the Judge: The People’s Book Prize – “The home for new and undiscovered works.”
Leave a Reply

