Skip to content
July 4, 2016 / peoplesbookprize

Giles Paley-Phillips⌈ Vote Now ⌋

In the lead up to The People’s Book Prize 2016 we caught up with author Giles Paley-Phillips to talk about his Children’s book

Little Bell and the Moon

Giles was born in East Sussex in 1977 and grew up on the south coast. He neglected his education to pursue a career in music. He spent a number of years performing extensively around the UK, including slots at the Glastonbury festival. His debut book ‘The Fearsome Beastie‘ won The People’s Book Prize, Bizziebaby Gold Award and Highly Commended in The Forward National Literature Award and was Shortlisted for The Rotherham Children’s Awards and The Heart of Hawick Children’s Book Award (Maverick Books) ‘Tamara Small and the Monsters’ Ball’ is out in 2012 followed in 2013 by ‘The Things you never knew about Dinosaurs‘ (Gullane) and ‘Princess Stay Awake’ in 2014 (Maverick) A collection of nonsense poetry There is a Lion in my Bathroom (Rebel books 2010, with proceeds going to Leukaemia Research) is OUT NOW in all good bookshops Giles still lives in Seaford with his wife, Michelle, and their two sons, Elijah and Sonny.

When did you start writing?

I started writing just after my wife found out she was pregnant with our first child, I just felt compelled to write something for our newborn child.

As an Author, What Influences You the Most?

There a re quite a few authors that have been an influence, Shel Silverstein, Edward Gorey, and David McKee. But also I couldn’t have gotten to this point without the support of my wife, who has been behind me since the first day.

Where did the idea for this book originate?

I lost my parents when I was very young and my wife and I have always been open with the children about death and loss, so I always wanted to write a picture book which would allow families to have that discussion and that’s how Little Bell and the Moon came about.

The People’s Book Prize nominees are voted for by the readers, how important are your readers to you?

They are the most important thing, for me it has always been about having the opportunity for people to read my work, it’s not about making money or winning prizes, it’s about having people read my book which keeps me writing.

We like to think there’s a voice for everyone in Publishing – what is your opinion?

Absolutely, publishing needs all kinds of voices and so do readers, there should be a place for everyone

Fat Fox publishes a variety of brilliant authors, what is it like to be in the company of talented writers?

It’s extremely inspiring and humbling, I’ve been so incredibly lucky to work with so many great publishers and artists, books really are a team effort, it really isn’t just about the writing, in particular picture books, which have such a visual power, that all comes from the illustrator and Iris Deppe deserves so much credit for the work she has done on this book

What book influenced you most as a writer and what are you reading at the moment?

I think ‘A light in the Attic‘ by Shel Silverstein was the book that go me into writing. I’m currently reading a lot of non-fiction, books by Jon Ronson and Louis Theroux

What can we expect from you in the future? What are you writing at the moment?

I have a new picture book out in October called ‘Superchimp‘ and I’m working on two novels in free verse.

 

Find Giles at: gilespaleyphillips.blogspot.co.uk

Facebook: giles.paleyphillips

Twitter: eliistender10

Instagram: eliistender10


home pageThe People’s Book Prize is the unique literary competition that is judged by the nation and open to all UK publishing companies.

You Be the Judge: The People’s Book Prize – “The home for new and undiscovered works.”
Leave a Reply

