Skip to content
July 1, 2016 / peoplesbookprize

Christinagabbitas⌈ Vote Now ⌋

In the lead up to The People’s Book Prize 2016 we caught up with author Christina Gabbitas to talk about her Children’s book

Share Some Secrets

Christina Gabbitas was born in Lancashire where she spent the first twenty-two years of her life moving to various parts of Yorkshire and now live in Yorkshire. As a child, she loved to read anything that rhymed. In 2012 Welcome To The World Of Felicity Fly was born, followed by Felicity Fly Meets Veronica Vac, Felicity Fly In The Garden, and the latest in the series of the picture rhyming read along books is Felicity Fly Meets The Dragon Fruit. Her latest rhyming book edition is a safeguarding book entitled Share Some Secrets and is illustrated by Ric Lumb. This book is for children aged 5-8, addressing the difference between good and troublesome secrets, encouraging children to share their troublesome secret. This is available to listen to via www.sharesomesecrets.scom This publication is also available in the NSPCC library, as recommended.

Christina has recently been awarded The Sue Ryder Yorkshire Women of Achievement in Education, which was held at the Royal Armouries in Leeds.

When did you start writing?

I had ideas for some stories when my children were babies. I penned some stories and ideas and put them away in a box file, thinking that one day, I may do something with them.  I decided to dust them down and give it a go! I have always been a person that likes to try something new. I hear so many people say, that they regret not doing something, I always reply, ‘there is still time!’ We have a short life, so I think do as much as you possibly can, especially when you feel passionate about something.

I had ideas for some stories when my children were babies. I penned some stories and ideas and put them away in a box file, thinking that one day, I may do something with them.  I decided to dust them down and give it a go! I have always been a person that likes to try something new. I hear so many people say, that they regret not doing something, I always reply, ‘there is still time!’ We have a short life, so I think do as much as you possibly can, especially when you feel passionate about something.

As an Author, What Influences You the Most?

My children, my life experiences and observing people, these are my greatest influences.

Where did the idea for this book come from?

I was shocked an appalled at all the news stories surrounding child sexual abuse. I wanted to do something to help, after realising that there was no book available for children ages 5-8 years, to pick up without needing parental supervision. I spent two years researching this project, including spending time with abuse lawyer, and getting such positive feedback from the NSPCC and Barnardo’s was a very proud moment. The book is suitable for a child to pick up and read with audio, encouraging them to speak out and share their troublesome secret. The child is heavily praised. If we can help one child , we will have achieved what we set out to do.

The People’s Book Prize nominees are voted for by the readers, how important are your readers to you?

This is paramount. I spoke with many parents, carers and teachers, who all said that anything that helps to educate our young vulnerable children , has got to be shouted about. The topic has been brushed under the carpet for too long. If I can help one child speak out, I will have achieved what I set out to do.

We like to think there’s a voice for everyone in Publishing – what is your opinion?

The large publishers dominate the market and don’t think there are enough opportunities given to small publishers. The Peoples Book Prize, gives small independent publishers a platform of opportunity.

Poems and Pictures Logo SmallPoems & Pictures publishes a variety of brilliant authors, what is it like to be in the company of talented writers?

I feel very privileged to be working with editors and illustrators alike, and to be given this opportunity. I would like to thank the Peoples Book Prize, for giving small publishers and new authors an opportunity to showcase their work. The industry is still dominated by large publishers, so this is the perfect platform.

What book influenced you most as a writer and what are you reading at the moment?

I used to love reading rhyming poetry , and it was Spike Milligan’s book of Silly Verse that influenced me when I was a child. I was never a prolific reader as a child and was more inclined to read if there was a rhyme and fun element. The last book I finished, was Spike Milligan’s letters. Spike Milligan was an amazing man with many talents and a special talent for making people laugh. Anybody who makes another person smile or laugh, gets my vote! I’m currently reading Frederick Forsyth’s,‘The Outsider’ all about his life experiences. I find people very interesting and I’m amazed at his passion, determination and intrigue, from a very young age. I’m looking forward to reading more.

What can we expect from you in the future? What are you writing at the moment?

I have just finished writing a new children’s book, entitled Triangular Trev and the Shape Idols.  This book introduced mathematical terms and music with fun. The book also has a sing-along song and being launched at WHSmith, Sheffield Meadowhall on 22nd October. More details about the publication will be revealed soon on www.triangulartrev.com There are many more projects in the offing! Watch this space!

 

Find Christina at: poemsandpictures.co.uk

Facebook: ChristinaGabbitas

Twitter: @poemspictures


home pageThe People’s Book Prize is the unique literary competition that is judged by the nation and open to all UK publishing companies.

You Be the Judge: The People’s Book Prize – “The home for new and undiscovered works.”
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ric / Jul 1 2016 10:50 am

    Reblogged this on Cartoons by Ric.

Trackbacks

  1. | The People’s Book Prize on WordPress.com | Cartoons by Ric

Leave a Reply

