Skip to content
June 30, 2016 / peoplesbookprize

liz quish⌈ Vote Now ⌋

In the lead up to The People’s Book Prize 2016 we caught up with author Liz Quish to talk about her book

Overcoming Self-Harm and Suicidal Thoughts

 

Liz Quish is a qualified counsellor and psychotherapist with a Masters In Mental Health. Liz works as a crisis counsellor with a leading Irish Charity, who offers free crisis counselling to those in suicidal distress and self-harming. She runs a private counselling practice in Tipperary Town, Ireland and lectures on an outreach basis for University College Cork on their Promoting Mental Health in the Community Certificate Programme. Liz also designs and facilitates a range of mental health promotion workshops for many organisations.

When did you start writing?

I always had a love of writing and expressing myself. I began writing poetry at a very young age which was picked up and nurtured by an insightful school teacher. When I progressed to the secondary level I enjoyed writing essays and received a lot of praise and encouragement from my English teachers, this was also the case when I progressed to the 3rd level many of my tutors acknowledged and validated my writing ability.

As an Author, What Influences You the Most?

I had many influences. When I progressed to 3rd level one of my tutors acknowledged my essay on self-harm and how insightful and empathic it was and encouraged me to consider writing more in-depth on the subject given the stigma associated with the issue and that was when the seeds were planted. But ultimately it was a parent of a child I was counselling, this young girl was actively self-harming, and her mum was so distressed. I  said “I wish there were a book with tips on how to deal and support my daughter” and that was it …. I decided it was time to write a book to help people understand self-harm and give practical guidance on how to support someone who was self-harming and in suicidal distress.

Where did the idea for this book originate?

It ultimately came from the parent of a child I was counselling who was self-harming, she mentioned the need for a practical book to help parent’s etc. deal with the issue in a balanced productive way.  But ultimately my teenage clients who were self-harming influenced me to put pen to paper and raise awareness about self-harm and suicide. I learned so much from them … I felt there was a need for a book that was clear, concise, empathic and informative.

The People’s Book Prize nominees are voted for by the readers, how important are your readers to you?

My readers are so important, they are key in helping to raise awareness about self-harm and suicide and appropriate interventions and hopefully reduce the stigma and be agents of change and hope. Each person that reads my book is helping to raise awareness about the issue of self-harm and suicide which is so very prevalent and so very often stigmatised and not fully understood. Each person that reads my book is in my view an agent of change… and an agent of hope…for so many that feel hopeless.

We like to think there’s a voice for everyone in Publishing – what is your opinion?

I agree we learn from each other and reading is good for the soul and educating the mind, everyone has a story to tell and share be it true or fiction. All stories have meaning in some shape or form, so yes go for it, believe in your story your content, be passionate about it, your passionate will permeate keep trying… from tiny seeds grow mighty oaks. The world is diverse, people’s interests and needs are diverse; your voice might be just what people need to hear, so let them hear it, express yourself, your views, your imagination, you never know the positive impact your voice might have!

Your Publisher publishes a variety of brilliant authors, what is it like to be in the company of talented writers?

I always hoped to write a book and it’s hard to believe at times it actually happened!! I feel honoured that Georgina of Hammersmith books and her team deemed my book worthy of publication. It’s a true honour and very validating to be on parallel with such wonderful and talented authors….. Dreams can come true…..

What book influenced you most as a writer and what are you reading at the moment?

Man’s Search for Meaning by Victor Frankel. I love to read and hear of peoples experiences and how they overcome adversity it’s truly empowering and motivational. Such strength, resilience and hope. I am currently reading “Why People Die by Suicide” By Thomas Joiner

What can we expect from you in the future? What are you writing at the moment?

I hope to continue writing on social issues that are not fully understood in society. I hope to continue to instil hope and reduce stigma. I hope to facilitate others to be agents of change one page at a time! Georgina of Hammersmith books and I are currently exploring publishing a book on infertility which is an area that is not openly spoken about or acknowledged. Exciting times….

 

Find Liz at: wcsei.ie

Facebook: Liz Quish Counsellor and Psychotherapist

Twitter: @HHealthBooks


home pageThe People’s Book Prize is the unique literary competition that is judged by the nation and open to all UK publishing companies.

You Be the Judge: The People’s Book Prize – “The home for new and undiscovered works.”
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Martina Leamy / Jul 10 2016 11:27 am

    I have found liz’s book really good and l use it in my work and I think it is a book suitable to every age and very practical support and a very much practical support for people….

  2. Martin Gillick / Jul 10 2016 11:45 am

    A much needed resource that can assist those in crisis. Liz has produced a fantastic aid for parents and teens alike. Understanding and knowledge is key to helping those who are suffering. In this regard this book hits all the right spots. Well done Liz.

Leave a Reply

